Battle Cry, UCR Performing Arts + LA Times Book Festival readings this week!

I’ve gotten attached to this little patch of desert I call home and am working on re-orienting myself to do everything I have to before I leave.  So these next set of performances & readings will be my love poems to Southern California and the people I’ve met along the way as I prepare to uproot myself again.

This week, I’m thankful to be reading in a place I’ve never been, amongst comrades & in a place where I’ve faithfully gone since I’ve been here to listen to my favorite writers.  Full circle.

Where I’ll be this week:

Thursday April 22 2010
8:00pm – 10:00pm
Java Groove
14310 Victory Blvd
Van Nuys, CA

H.I.P., Hollywood Institute of Poetics reading
Battle Cry’
hosted by Cassandra Love
featuring

Ching-In Chen
Peggy Dobreer
Karen Harryman

open reading to follow

Ching-In Chen is a poet and multi-genre, border-crossing writer and the author of The Heart’s Traffic. She is the daughter of Chinese immigrants and a Kundiman Asian American Poet Fellow. A community organizer, she has worked in the Asian American communities of San Francisco, Oakland, and Boston.  Ching-In Chen currently lives in Riverside, CA, where she is in the MFA in Creative Writing Program at the University of California Riverside.

Karen Harryman’s poems have appeared in Alaska Quarterly Review, Los Angeles Review, Poetry New Zealand, and other journals. Her first book of poetry, Auto Mechanic’s Daughter, was published in 2007 by Akashic Books. Before moving to Los Angeles with her husband, Kirker, she lived and worked in Kentucky for most of her life. She teaches creative writing at YULA, an orthodox Jewish girls’ high school.

Saturday April 24 2010

WHERE: U.C. Riverside Humanities Theater Lab Room 411

WHEN: Saturday April 24 at 8pm


You are invited

To a night of MFA Readings

Works from first and second year screenwriters and playwrights:

V. Lazaro Zamora

Leonid Leonov

Sara Green

Eva Konstantopoulos

Joe Powers

Ching-In Chen

SR Mishler

Melissa Harkness

Limited seating- Come early.

Sunday April 25 2010

I’m reading on the Poetry Stage of the L.A. Times Festival of Books @ 10:30am

Here’s the link for more info: http://events.latimes.com/festivalofbooks/program-schedule/sunday-stages/#ps
Hope to see you along the way!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

